Storing Linocut Blocks

How you can stop ruining your linocut blocks!

“Art is a line around your thoughts.”

Gustav Klimt

Welcome back to all of you linocut nerds! I hope you had a restful weekend. I sure did. This week ahead I will finish one new sketchbook painting and get back to carving! 

In this week’s issue: 

Let’s go!

Storage 

Once again, I want to thank a fellow member of the community for the question that inspired this article. 

“How do you keep your blocks from not curling up when not being used?”

Well, this is how I tackled this problem. 

As we know, nice flat linoleum is essential for creating beautiful prints. However, when not in use, these blocks need to be properly stored to ensure they remain in good condition for future printing.

The drawer I use as archive

The first thing to consider when storing linoleum blocks is to keep them in a dry and cool place. Linoleum is a type of material that is sensitive to moisture, so it’s essential to store it in an environment that is not too humid or damp. When there is too much moisture, you run the risk of developing mold, and the color will change to a pale yellow. A dry and cool storage area will help prevent this. 

Warping or cracking of the linoleum blocks will happen if you are not keeping them completely flat. As the block ages, it will get harder, and if you happen to throw it on the back of a drawer and a corner is bent, it will harden in that shape. The next time you run it through a press, you run the risk of cracking it. 

Another way to avoid linoleum sheets from warping is to mount them on plywood or particle board. There is already mounted lino available if you would rather skip the actual gluing part. I personally do not buy them mounted because they are heavier, clunkier, and make for more difficult storage. The few mounted blocks I do have are stored in my closet shelf standing upright. These are the only blocks I do not store flat - they just take too much space laying flat. 

When storing linoleum blocks, it’s also important to keep them protected from any potential damage. I keep all my carved blocks in one drawer of my archives. If you don't have a drawer, then consider wrapping the blocks in a protective material such as bubble wrap or foam, which will help protect them. Additionally, storing them in a sturdy container or box will also help protect them from any damage.

Another important aspect to consider when storing linoleum blocks is to keep them organized. By doing this, it will be easier to find the right block when you need it and it will also help prevent any potential damage from blocks getting mixed up or lost. Trust me, I lost the very first block I ever carved and it pains me to thi day. Hopefully, this was helpful. If you have any further doubts, don't hesitate to ask again!

Lord Banana Release 

A print I started in October has finally hit the store! To celebrate, all Inkplate subscribers get first dibs and a special discount. Use Code: BANANA10 for a 10% discount on this new funny print at www.danielvillaart.com

Question Time 

Do you have a printmaking or artist-related question you want me to answer here on the newsletter? Let me know here.

“My problem is getting it to print well! I usually use ink pads without any problems but decided to try the block printing ink like a 'professional' lol. I just can't get it to print smoothly. It comes out blotchy. I have a rubber brayer and use a glass surface for the ink. Is this something you get better at with practice or am I missing something key?” 

-Anonymous

Without seeing the print, two issues come to mind:

  1. The amount of ink. Maybe there was not enough ink on the block. Try being a little more generous with the ink. If after you print, a lot of details are lost, then you have too much ink. Next round: apply a little less and play with the amount of ink until you find the golden spot. 

  2. Pressure. How was the pressure applied? Via a press, spoon, baren?  Even if you have the right amount of ink and a nice absorbent paper? If you are not applying enough even pressure, you will see salty areas. By salty. I mean, that there will look like tiny grains of salt on the print, areas where the ink did not cover the paper. Or areas that are very light while others are very dark -  the blotches?. 

If you still haven't gotten a nice print and you have already tried these two things, please feel free to DM on Instagram and we can troubleshoot!

My Material's List 

After the most recent Speedball takeover, I started receiving questions about the tools that I personally use. I decided that it was time to create a list for all to see. This is something that I intend to update yearly and it will always be available for free thanks to the generosity of Patreon subscribers. 

You can see and download The Inkplate Edition list on my Patreon profile under the public posts. 

The Patreon Edition list will include some extra information relating to my content creation tools, software, and business tools. 

If you would like to become a Patreon member and support this newsletter, you can do so here.

Before You Go, 

  • Want to be part of the ‘Artist Highlight’ or know of someone who might be, fill out this interest form

  • Do you have a printmaking or artist-related question you want me to answer? Reply to this email and let me know!

-Daniel 

Join the conversation

or to participate.